About | Shows & Events | Pedigree Services | NJSA | Genetics & Technology | Seedstock EDGE | Blog | Online Bill Pay

NJSA > Scholarships > The Maschhoffs Pork Production Scholarship

The Maschhoffs
Pork Production Scholarship


Many members of The Maschhoff team were members of 4-H or FFA, including the company owners. Leaders within our company understand the value that programs like these bring in the development of future leaders. The Maschhoffs got involved with NJSA because we see an audience of youth with a common interest in the swine industry. Our hope has been to help nurture and inspire the passion for pork production through the experiences offered by the NJSA, with our major contribution being the TML scholarship, sponsorship of the National Youth Leadership Conference, and involvement in occasional teaching experiences during boot camp or other NJSA events. Through NJSA our company has an avenue to interact with youth that have an interest in swine and as part of that interaction, we hope to provide exposure to the opportunities that exist throughout the industry and within our company. The Maschhoffs hope to show your members that they can make a career centered around their passion, whether it is in swine production or as a support to production. Production support might involve working with genetics, research, accounting, human resources, nutrition, environmental, and many more. Involvement in the NJSA provides The Maschhoffs an opportunity to play a role in enhancing youth enthusiasm toward the industry, and hopefully provide opportunities for future careers.

Scholarship Application Process

Up to five $1,000 scholarships will be awarded to the winners of the Maschhoff Inc. Scholarship.  All winners will receive $1,000 and must complete a 4 day internship with The Maschhoffs Inc., at their headquarters in Carlyle, Illinois. All travel, meals and housing expenses will be paid by The Maschhoffs Inc.

Applicant must fill out the scholarship application and complete 4 questions with a 300-word maximum essay. The questions must be double spaced and typed. Applicants are required to submit two letters of recommendation from a non-related industry professional, 4-H leader, FFA adviser or school teacher. Letters should be one page in length.

Scholarship Guidelines

  • Scholarship applicants must be members of the National Junior Swine Association (NJSA). Applicants must be 18-21 years old and enrolled in or will be enrolled in an agricultural program at a recognized college/university. Ages are as of Jan. 1 of the award year.
  • A 5-member judging committee will be organized consisting of two TMI members, two NSR/NJSA Staff members and a previous recipient of the scholarship and 4 day internship.
  • The judging committee will meet before the National Junior Summer Spectacular, and will determine the finalists that will move on to the interview process. 
  • There will be an interview process that will take place at the National Junior Summer Spectacular on Tuesday evening. If you are unable to make it to this event, we will work with you to plan a phone interview.
  • Answers will be judged on overall thought process and merit.
  • The scholarships recipients will be announced and recognized at the National Junior Summer Spectacular. A short bio will be listed about each scholarship recipient in the next available issue of the Seedstock Edge.
  • The top two essays will be listed on the NSR website.
  • The winners must complete the 4 day internship with The Maschhoffs Inc. by the end of the following school year or forfeit their scholarship. A date will be set to allow all winners to visit the office together.
  • NJSA members may only win one scholarship from The Maschhoffs Inc.

Scholarship Application

2017 winners

Brandon Stickler, IL
Adrian Austin, IL
Lexi Delaney, IA
Hannah Frobose, OH
Sarah Strathman, WI

Past Winners:

2016 Devin Ammann IL
2016 Lindsey Robinson MO
2016 Jared Welik IA
2016 Hannah Zundel PA
2016 Morgan Mench IN
2015 MorganCox IN
2015 LexiMarek IA
2015 DanikaMiller IN
2015 JacksonJohnson IN
2015 CalebGrohmann IL
2014 HeatherJohnston OH
2014 LaurenKoeppe IN
2013 KaneAustin IL
2013 DavidAmmann IL
2012 MattMorrison NY
2012 CoreyCarpenter CA
2011 AustinLangemeier TX
2011 HallieFrobose OH
2010 CallyHass MI
2010 WarnerPhipps NE
2009 Alicia Keller NY
2009 Kayla Meyer IL
2008 HyattFrobose OH
2008 BaileyAlbright MI